Peas and Compassion

Cruelty-free crunchiness and shameless veg-elation.

VeganMoFo Day 30: I made it! Black Bean Nacho Plate

Leave a comment

400x84_g2

I can’t believe it’s the last day of VeganMofo 2014 – I am simultaneously sad and elated. I have had fun reading all the great posts out there, as well as sharing my hideous photos of food (next step: improve kitchen lighting).

This morning I was listening to a great podcast from No Meat Athlete on staying motivated while running, when Matt and Doug gave two separate suggestions to switch up the landscape and double the mileage. So on this evening’s run, I decided to forgo my usual route and strike out in a new direction – with hills! At the end of things it turned out that I’d run about 4.89 miles, which while not doubling my current mileage, did tack on over a good extra mile. But I survived it, just as I have survived my first VeganMoFo!

When I came back home I felt both amazing and ravenous. Therefore, tonight’s dish is the Black Bean and Potato Nacho Plate from Oh She Glows, who is one of my favorite veg bloggers. In lieu of actual nacho chips, you essentially make some rustic home fries/chips from russet potatoes and serve a seasoned black bean filling over top, then add additional toppings of your choosing. (I went with tomatoes, avocado, cilantro, green onions, black olives, and Tofutti sour cream.)

100_4445

Basically it’s a cumin-y, salty dish over top of crispy, salty fries – so not exactly blood pressure friendly, but pretty perfect after a good run. Thank you, beautiful carb-laden potatoes and protein-rich beans, for refueling me. Thank you salt, for helping restore lost electrolytes.

~~~

Now that VeganMofo has come to a close, I’ve been pondering what to do with this space. It seems reasonable to keep posting recipes, reviews, and news here from time to time, and I think this is as good a place as any to explore the ideas present in my first post. As far as immediate next steps go, tomorrow is World Vegetarian Day, and I’ll be participating in FARM’s Fast Against Slaughter on October 2nd. I highly recommend Alex Herschaft’s AMA on Reddit for background on that. If you’re interested in participating, you can pledge here. (I’ll be explaining my reasons in an upcoming post.)

That’s it for now – thank you for following along this Month and especially for putting up with my sad photography all month long!

Leave a comment